The 2011 Irish Film and Television Academy (IFTA) Awards were held last night in Dublin’s National Conference Centre, and it was a star-studded celebration of Irish and international talent.

As If I Am Not There scored big on the night, picking up 3 awards including Best Film, Best Director and Best Script. On the international front David Fincher’s excellent The Social Network was the one to beat nabbing International Film and International Actor for Jesse Eisenberg.

The full list of IFTA film winners follows:

As If I Am Not There

Director Film

Juanita Wilson – As If I Am Not There

Script Film
Juanita Wilson – As If I Am Not There

Actor in a Lead Role – Film
Martin McCann – Swansong – Story of Occi Byrne

Actress in a Lead Role – Film / Television
Amy Huberman – Rewind

Actor in a Supporting Role – Film
Pierce Brosnan – The Ghost

Actress in a Supporting Role – Film
Saoirse Ronan – The Way Back

The George Morrison Feature Documentary Award
The Pipe

International Film
The Social Network

International Actor
Jesse Eisenberg –The Social Network

International Actress
Annette Benning – The Kids are All Right

Director of Photography
PJ Dillon – The Runway

Emer Reynolds – My Brothers

Original Score
Ray Harman – Na Cloigne

Production Design
Ray Ball – The Runway

The Silence

Philips Short Film
Small Change

Rising Star Award
Domhnall Gleeson – Actor

Outstanding Contribution to Industry
Morgan O’Sullivan

2 Responses

    • Niall

      There was such a dearth of Irish female acting performances to choose from that they had to combine the Film and TV categories. Something is not right there.


Leave a Reply