25 primary schools have been awarded for their outstanding achievements in filmmaking at the 15th annual FÍS Film Awards which took place at the Helix, DCU, Dublin today.

Hosted by RTE’s Sinead Kennedy, the project, which introduces young students to all aspects of the film-making process, helps children develop teamwork, communication and technological skills. It also assists primary school teachers in enhancing critical thinking, problem solving, investigation and analysis in the classroom. The initiative is aligned with the Government’s digital strategy for schools, an action plan for integrating ICT into teaching and learning assessments in the classroom.

Over 900 enthusiastic young film buffs attended today’s ceremony, which was hosted by the Professional Development Service for Teachers (PDST TiE) and the Institute of Art, Design & Technology (IADT). 

25 short movies produced by students and directed by teachers made the shortlist this year, including:

  • Don’t Give Up! by Gaelscoil Riabhach, Galway 
  • Goddess of the Moon by St Michael’s College Junior School, Dublin
  • Children Can’t Resist by St Josephs NS, Rathmullan, Donegal
  • You’d Never Suspect by St. Peter’s National School, Dungourney, Cork
  • Spring in the Dáil by Scoil Naomh Eirc, Kilmoyley, Ardfert, Kerry 
  • Breaking News by Abbeyleix South National School, Laois

FÍS 2019 also saw the introduction of a new special category award: Dáil 100 in collaboration with the Houses of the Oireachtas. Dáil 100 encouraged schools to make films that commemorate the anniversary of the first Dáil, to celebrate its legacy and educate themselves and others about parliamentary democracy.  

The awards were presented to students by Ciara O’Donnell, National Director of the PDST and Head of Dept. of Film & Media, IADT, Rónán Ó Muirthile for Outstanding Achievement in Film Making for categories such as: Acting, Production Design, Animation, Direction, Costume, Cinematography, Special Effects, Best Newcomer, amongst others. Awards were also made for curriculum relevant films: wellbeing, history, geography and science subject areas. 

FÍS film awards
David Zokov. Katie Bruce. Ingrid Broasca. Beni Muresan. Jade Grouse. Carolina Verenjac. Julia Fratean of Gardiner Street Primary School

In addition, Guest of Honour, Dr. Annie Doona, Chair, Screen Ireland & President, IADT announced the prestigious Aileen MacKeogh FÍS Film of the Year 2019 award at the annual FÍS Film Awards Ceremony where schools from across Ireland were honoured for ‘Outstanding Achievements in Film Making’. 

The FÍS 2019 award winning films are a powerful demonstration of how creativity combined with technology influences how children learn, makes learning meaningful and highlights the richness of its impact. The creative use of technology supports teachers to realise the  curriculum in an interesting and interactive way, very much in line with the focus in the Department of Education & Skills, Digital Strategy for Schools and the Digital Learning Framework.

Ciara O’Donnell, National Director – PDST

Ireland’s youngest film-makers and their teachers have worked hard to create films that entertain, engage, challenge, inform, that make us laugh, cry and wonder. In a growing technology-based world, primary school children are given the opportunity to prepare well for the future and to have their voice heard as they learn and understand how to create content rather than simply being passive consumers of it.

Dr. Annie Doona, Chair – Screen Ireland & President – IADT


CountyAward ReceivedSchool NameFilm Title
CarlowOutstanding Achievement Award for DramaNewtown Dunleckney National SchoolSetanta
CorkOutstanding Achievement Award for HorrorSt. Peter’s National School (Dungourney)You’d Never Suspect
CorkOutstanding Achievement Award for Curriculum Relevance: HistoryCarrigaline Educate Together NSThe Cork to Crosshaven Railway
CorkOutstanding Achievement Award Curriculum Relevance: Wellness Our Lady of Mercy NS (Bantry)Second Best
DonegalOutstanding Achievement Award for AnimationSt Josephs NS (Rathmullan)Children can’t resist
DonegalOutstanding Achievement Award for ComedyAyr Hill National School (Letterkenny)Misunderstood
DublinOutstanding Achievement Award for Acting + The Aileen Mac Keogh Film of the Year 2019 AwardGardiner Street Primary SchoolThe Story of the Willow Tree  Pattern
DublinOutstanding Achievement Award for Production DesignSt Michael’s College Junior School (Dublin 4)Goddess of the Moon
DublinOutstanding Achievement Award for SoundtrackSacred Heart of Jesus, Huntstown, (D15)A New Day
GalwayOutstanding Achievement Award for CinematographyScoil Mhuire (Moycullen)More than meets the eye
GalwayOutstanding Achievement Award for StoryboardingScoil Padraig Naofa (Cregmore)Science Busters
GalwayOutstanding Achievement Award for Special EffectsGaelscoil RiabhachDon’t Give Up!
GalwayOutstanding Achievement Award  Curriculum Relevance: GeographyScoil San Phroinsias (Headford Road)St. Francis, Superhero.
KerryOutstanding Achievement Award for AdaptationKillury National School (Causeway)Bean Sí
KerryOutstanding Achievement Award for Best BiographyScoil Naomh Eirc (Kilmoyley, Ardfert)Spring in the  Dáil
KerryOutstanding Achievement Award for StorytellingScoil Mhuire gan Smál (Lixnaw)The Busy Bees
KerryOutstanding Achievement Award for OriginalityScoil Naomh Iosef (Ballyheigue)A Little Help
LaoisOutstanding Achievement Award for Mixed MediaAbbeyleix South National SchoolBreaking News
LeitrimOutstanding Achievement Award for Plot TwistSaint Hugh’s National School (Dowra)1915
MayoOutstanding Achievement Award for Curriculum Relevance: ScienceScoil Raifteirí (Castlebar)Science and Me in Scoil Raifteirí
MeathOutstanding Achievement Award for Best NewcomerSt. Paul’s Primary School (Navan)A Better Way
MeathAn Scannán is Fearr as GaeilgeScoil Uí Ghramhnaigh (Ráth Cairn, Áth Bui)An Grianghraf
MonaghanAward for Best Special Category Film: Dáil 100Scoil na gCailini (Castleblaney)Mná na hEireann agus an Chéad Dáil
TipperaryOutstanding Achievement Award for DirectionCappawhite National SchoolJanuary 21st 1919 – The day that changed the course of Irish History
TipperaryOutstanding Achievement Award for CostumeLackamore National School (Newport)The Lackamore Wood Ambush

About The Author

Managing Editor

Founder and Managing Editor of Scannain. Head of Business Affairs at Treasure Entertainment. If found please return to a cinema. Always willing to lend a hand to an Irish film, actor or director in need.

Leave a Reply