The 4th Annual Richard Harris International Film Festival wrapped up 5 successful days of celebrating film in Limerick with an Awards Night in the Savoy Hotel on October 30th.

Organisers felt that the weekend was a huge success with many film makers from last year returning, including Sam Eather from Epopine Films in Australia returned. Andre and Elbie Frauenstein, who produced Feature Film winner Treurgrond attended the festival from Wednesday onwards.

Elaine Kennedy’s Uisce Beatha / Water of Life won Best Overall Short. The film, which is based on a true experience shared with her father, was made with no funding and the kindness and generiouity of friends, family, and the community of Dingle.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Limerick local Cashell Horgan picked up Best Director for his short The Clockmaker’s Dream, while Brian O’Neill’s Offaly-set crime drama Caper won the Audience Award.  The acting awards went to Owen Roe for Wait and Sarah Bishop for  Late Moves, while Steve Hall’s Day Off won the Newport Beach Competition, which will see the film automatically selected for the 207 Newport Beach Film Festival in the US.

The 4th annual Richard Harris International Film Festival took place from Thursday October 27th to Monday October 31st 

Award Winners

Richard Harris Outstanding Talent Award – Ms. Fionnula Flanagan
Presented by Jared Harris at Red Carpet Gala Evening Friday 28th October

Best Feature FilmTreurgrond – Darrell Roodt

Best Overall ShortUisce Beatha / Water of Life – Elaine Kennedy

Best Director – Cashell Horgan – The Clockmakers Dream

Best Actor in a Male Role – Owen Roe – Wait

Best Actor in a Female Role – Sarah Bishop – Late Moves

Monologue Competition 2016 – Owen Mulhall

Midwest Category Audience AwardSons of Robert Schuman – Tommy Conlan

National / International Audience AwardCaper – Brian O’Neill

Newport Beach CompetitionDay Off – Steve Hall

Special Recognition Award – Jason Reddan for Streetlights

Inaugural Style Award – Ms. Ella Harris

Leave a Reply