The Galway Film Fleadh has opened short film submissions for its 30th edition, taking place from 10th – 15th July, 2018. Over the last three decades the Film Fleadh has cultivated a reputation as the discovery place of new Irish cinema. The Film Fleadh’s advocacy for Irish film talent is foregrounded in a number of ways, which has traditionally included an exclusively Irish short film programme.

As the Film Fleadh looks to the future on its milestone 30thyear, the festival is breaking with tradition and inviting international short filmmakers to join their peers and share a platform that has helped to springboard many Irish careers and projects.

Galway’s inaugural international short film programme will be a taster menu to complement the more established Irish selection but, shorts programmer Eibh Collins says, “aims to reflect the diversity, authenticity and bold visions of new voices from around the globe.” In addition to screenings, the festival also delivers panel discussions and networking events tailored towards short filmmakers, providing opportunities to meet with international and industry guests.

Tristan Heanue, Paddy Slattery and the team behind the short film A Break in the Clouds

Tristan Heanue, Paddy Slattery and the team behind the short film A Break in the Clouds

Speaking on the decision to open Galway’s short film awards to international submission, festival founder and managing director Miriam Allen said, “The art of short filmmaking was central to the Film Fleadh’s inception. It had to be – Irish film was such a cottage industry! Now, thirty years later, we have the scope to extend a céad míle fáilte to short filmmakers from around the world and share our inimitable and intimate stage with them.”

Galway’s short film submissions are now open across all categories. The Film Fleadh accepts all types and genre of short film under 40 minutes, as well as picture-locked rough cuts. The deadline for short film submission is Friday May 11th at 5pm, and the entry fee is €20. For further information or to submit a film, visit

Each year the Film Fleadh programmes nearly 100 Irish short films, across six days, including drama and documentary, live action and animation, and everything in-between. Galway is an Oscar® qualifying festival; winners of the James Horgan award for Best Irish Animation and the Tiernan McBride Award for Best Irish Short Drama will qualify for Academy Award consideration without the standard theatrical run. Galway also rewards first time directors in drama and animation, as well as the Donal Gilligan Award for Best Cinematography in a short film. Winners through the years include Lenny Abrahamson, Kirsten Sheridan, Ken Wardrop, Rebecca Daly, as well as DOP’s Kate McCullough, Tim Fleming, and many more.

Leave a Reply