Scannain literally is the Irish word for movies so we honestly couldn’t think of a better name for a website about them with an Irish focus.

Scannain was founded in October 2009 initially as a blog with movie reviews, some news, but mostly rambling views on all things film. As the years have gone by the rambling has decreased and the size of the writing pool has increased from one to many, all of whom are voluntary contributors with a passion and love for film. Nowadays Scannain is one of Ireland’s largest independent film websites.

In our current guise we seek to promote international films to an Irish audience, but more crucially Irish film to an Irish and international audience. Scannain will always lend a hand to Irish filmmakers and is proud of our work with the Irish independent film scene.

The site is a collective endeavour and we are always on the lookout for more writers to join our motley crew.

The Editors:

niallNiall Murphy (@NiallXMurphy)

Founder/ Managing Editor

Niall is a life-long fan of the work of Steven Spielberg and is generally regarded as the comic-book nerd of the group. When not watching, writing or reading about films he can usually be found arguing over the true weight of Thor’s hammer, or spending time with his long-suffering wife, or both!


philipPhilip Bagnall (@CynicalFilm)

Reviews Editor


Philip is the “cultured” one of the group, a French speaker (we don’t know why) and a noted cinephile, with a deep (and possibly unhealthy) love of Jessica Chastain. If you spot Philip in the wild please return him to the Light House or IFI, he’d appreciate that.


jayJason Coyle (@JayCoyle)

Features Editor


Jason’s love of film begins and ends with Raging Bull. He is open to discussing the virtues of other Scorsese films, but do not utter the words “Zack Snyder” in his presence. Jason is the true Irish film expert on the Scannain team, finding them both worthwhile and technically accomplished.

The Reviewers:

Aine O'Connell

Aine O’Connell

Amanda Whitehead

Amanda Whitehead

Brian D'Arcy

Brian D’Arcy

Brian Wade

Brian Wade

David Neary

David Neary

Emma Fagan

Emma Fagan

Gearoid Gillett

Gearoid Gillett

Mark Cassidy

Mark Cassidy

Paul Berney

Paul Berney

Will O'Keeffe

Will O’Keeffe


Scannain has been fortunateover the years to have received a number of award nominations and final places. We are still waiting on our first win, but are just happy to be in the conversation (Our lawyers insist that we say that).


2010 – Finalist – Best Individual Blog


2011 – Shortlist – Best Arts and Culture Blog

2011 – Shortlist – Best Popculture Blog

2010 – Nominee – Best Arts and Culture Blog

2010 – Nominee – Best Newcomer


Irish Web Awards

2014 – Finalist – Best Daily Online Publication

2014 – Finalist – Most Useful Website

2013 – Finalist – Best Daily Online Publication

2012 – Shortlist – Best Web Only Publication

2012 – Shortlist – Best Entertainment Website

2011 – Finalist – Best Entertainment Website


2014 – Finalist – Best Podcast

2013 – Long List – Best PopCulture

To contact the editor, email editor@scannain.com

To join the team, email oneofus@scannain.com

Scannain Media, 1 Dualla Court, Blackrock, Co. Dublin